Tag «Lyna»

Nominees Sought for 2008 Order of Nova Scotia

first_imgAn author of children’s books, a world-class orthopaedic surgeon, and a champion for women’s politics and human rights are among those who have received the province’s highest honour for achievement. Author Joyce Barkhouse, surgeon William Stanish and humanitarian Flora MacDonald are a few of the outstanding Nova Scotians who have been inducted into the Order of Nova Scotia. And it’s time for more deserving Nova Scotians to join the list. People are reminded to nominate or renominate someone who has made an outstanding contribution to their community for the 2008 Order of Nova Scotia. The nomination deadline is Friday, March 21. “Forty people have been invested into the Order of Nova Scotia since it began in 2002,” said Bill Dooks, Minister responsible for the administration of the Order of Nova Scotia Act. “I encourage all Nova Scotians to nominate someone they feel has made a significant contribution to their community.” Recipients are selected each year by the Order of Nova Scotia Advisory Council. In 2007, the Order of Nova Scotia was amended to include a recipient under the age of 26, making a maximum of six people eligible to be inducted into the Order of Nova Scotia each year. “The amendment allows us to recognize the outstanding achievements being made by youth in our communities,” said Sister Dorothy Moore, chair of the Order of Nova Scotia Advisory Council. “We encourage people to consider young people for nomination and anyone who has made a positive impact on our communities. We also want to remind people to renominate those who have been considered in the past.” Nova Scotians can be nominated for several reasons. They may work to protect human rights or preserve the cultural identity of their communities. They may be teachers, community leaders or inventors. Others might include peacekeepers, communicators or those who work to preserve the environment. People who wish to renominate someone can fill out a new nomination form and submit a photocopy of the nomination package from the last nomination. Nomination forms can be picked up at all Access Nova Scotia centres. They are also available at Province House, offices of all members of the legislative assembly, Nova Scotia members of parliament and senators, and municipal offices. For more information contact the Protocol Office at 902-424-4463, e-mail [email protected] or see the website at www.gov.ns.ca/prot/order.htm .last_img read more

Ohio State football announces rosters for 2014 Spring Game

Then-freshman running back Ezekiel Elliott (15) fights for extra yardage during a game against Purdue Nov. 2 at Ross-Ade Stadium. OSU won, 56-0.Credit: Ritika Shah / Asst. photo editorFor the culmination of Ohio State spring practice, the team’s best players are set to line up toe-to-toe.Falling in line with coach Urban Meyer’s statement Wednesday evening that he wants good players on both the Scarlet and Gray squads, each team balances plenty of talent that figures for a good show Saturday afternoon at Ohio Stadium.Notable members for the Scarlet Team include redshirt-sophomore quarterback Cardale Jones, sophomore running back Ezekiel Elliott, freshman H-Back Curtis Samuel, sophomore wide receiver Dontre Wilson, and a linebacking crew of senior Curtis Grant and redshirt-sophomore Chris Worley, according to an OSU press release.The Gray Team is set to be led by redshirt-freshman J.T. Barrett at quarterback, while junior linebacker Joshua Perry, freshman linebacker Raekwon McMillan, redshirt-sophomore safety Tyvis Powell and junior cornerback Armani Reeves bolster the defensive unit.The Scarlet offensive line features juniors Taylor Decker and Jacoby Boren, and are set to face off against Gray defensive linemen juniors Noah Spence, Adolphus Washington and Tommy Schutt.Senior Michael Bennett and sophomore Joey Bosa anchor the defensive line for the Scarlet Team, and are slated to battle the likes of redshirt-sophomore Pat Elflein and others on the Gray offensive line.The game will feature four 10-minute quarters, and the clock will stop throughout the first half but not in the second. No kickoffs will occur, according to the release, but sophomore punter Cameron Johnston is set to punt with no returns.Each team has honorary captains, according to the release, as Vice President of Student Life Javaune Adams-Gaston will be representing the Gray Team, while Interim President Joseph Alutto is set to represent the Scarlet Team.Cornerbacks coach and special teams coordinator Kerry Coombs, offensive line coach Ed Warinner, wide receivers coach Zach Smith and linebackers coach Luke Fickell will coach the Gray squad.The coaches for the Scarlet Team are set to be running backs coach Stan Drayton, quarterbacks coach Tom Herman, tight ends and fullbacks coach Tim Hinton, co-defensive coordinator and safeties coach Chris Ash and defensive line coach Larry Johnson.The game is scheduled to get underway at 1:30 p.m. read more